Badge. HTML Basics: Aly Miller

I essentially tackled this assignment by just looking at the recipe and then doing what I thought made sense to make this website look like the PDF. I’ve had experience with web development before so I was very familiar with all the tags we were using, so I did not really need to use any outside resources and I did not run into any major challenges.

I did have to go in and change how I did a couple of things originally–for example, I ended up changing the multiple <br> tags I was using in the ingredients lists to be an unordered list. So although it no longer looks identical to the PDF, there are not unnecessary <br>s throughout the code that clutters it, and the unordered list makes more sense from a structural standpoint.

I also had to change the way I thought about HTML for this assignment. I first learned HTML in middle school, because I was one of those really cool kids who thought that making websites on Geocities was super fun, and I didn’t even touch CSS until months after I considered myself a grand master of HTML (aka I was really good at copying and pasting from lissaexplains.com). I learned how to change colors and fonts and other design elements on a page using HTML long before I learned how to do it using CSS. Because of this, the concept of having the HTML be purely structural is new to me. I am using to developing using a hybrid method, with some design elements in the CSS and some in the HTML. Thinking about it, the hybrid method I used made little sense, and I am excited to get used to using the new method of making all my HTML decisions purely based on the structure of the page.

About amille10

Senior at Trinity University majoring in Computer Science and Communication
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Badge. HTML Basics: Aly Miller

  1. johnnywendy says:

    I’m surprised you finished the assignment with Reddit open in the background!

Leave a Reply

